Are you looking for some information on dairy-free cheese? You are, therefore, in the right place. Without further ado, let’s proceed with the discussion.
Overview Of Dairy-Free Cheese
Nowadays, more and more people have started opting for a vegan diet. However, some of them always crave for cheese in day-to-day recipes. Hence, they are looking for substitutes for regular cheeses. Many alternatives are available nowadays. These include vegetable oils, nuts, and nutritional yeast. However, the most popular substitute for dairy cheese is vegan cheese.
What Is Dairy Free Cheese?
Many people do not prefer dairy products. Vegan cheese comes as a 100% animal-free ingredient. The source of these cheeses is vegetable proteins. Common ingredients in this regard include nuts, soy, vegetable oils, macadamias, and cashews. Moreover, tapioca, arrowroot, agar, etc also work as the sources of such cheeses.
However, the ingredients can surprise some people, who prefer unprocessed foods. Some vegan cheeses come with thickeners (like xanthan gum and carrageenan) and starches.
Do you know vegan cheese manufacturing involves similar steps as regular cheese making? The process includes the separation of plant proteins with the help of bacteria. Thereafter, different ingredients, such as thickeners and oils help to form a cheese-like texture.
There are several similarities between processes of vegan and dairy cheese. One of the similarities is time. Bacteria and vegetable protein start breaking down to continue the process.
When it comes to dairy cheeses, animal proteins bond to each other naturally. However, it is not the case with vegan cheese. As a result, vegan cheese becomes unique and complex in flavor.
What About Dairy-Free Cheese?
The first difference that a cheese buff will notice in vegan cheese is the melting process. It is not possible to get the same gooey feeling that is evident with dairy cheeses.
However, different types of vegan cheeses are available in the market today. That means one has many options to choose from and decide. More and more new cheese-making techniques are being introduced in the market. As a result, one can expect to have a similar taste of vegan cheese to that of dairy cheese.
Nowadays, many people think about excluding daily cheese for their saturated fat content. However, as per the latest research, cheese may help to lower the risk of heart problems. Moreover, it may also help to control diabetes. On the contrary, vegan cheeses come with low amounts of calcium, fat, and protein. Consequently, these cheeses may come as gluten-free options.
Certain vegan cheese variations make use of root vegetables. It includes carrots and potatoes. The process results in an extremely soft, gravy-style cheese sauce.
Are you going to add dairy-free cheese to your diet? Then, remember, vegan cheese is rich in sodium, as it is processed food. However, it is essential to go through the labels. Unfortunately, vegans cannot rely on such types of cheeses to fulfill their protein quota. That means it is not possible to depend upon vegan cheeses such as lentils and kale.